User Tools

Site Tools


Cloud Backups

Cloud backups, also called Off-site or Server side backups, are an easy and secure way to store your router's configuration on our servers. The service lets you store up to seven different configurations and manage them through the Foris user interface. Unlike the configuration backup under the Maintenance tab, cloud backups let you store your configuration directly on our servers. This means that if you take your router back to factory settings, you don’t have to configure everything again or look for configuration files on your computer and you can very easily restore your previously saved configuration. Once you install the package, backups will be created automatically every night, but you can also create backups manually.

Usage

A prerequisite for using the service is to be registered in Project Turris. You can register the device on the page of the project.

1. Installation

To use the service, you first need to download the right package. Go to Foris and check the “Cloud backups” package under the Updater tab. Then click “Save changes”. A new tab Cloud Backups will then appear.

2. Set a password and remember it!

It is important that you set a password, which you will remember. This password unlocks your backups, so anytime you want to restore settings from a backup, you have to submit the password. The password isn’t stored anywhere and it is also not renewable, so if you happen to forget it, you will not be able to use your backups.

3. Create backups.

Backups are created automatically every night, but you can also choose to create a backup manually, by clicking “Create”. Up to seven backups can be created and stored on your server, after that they will gradually be overwritten. You can choose which backups should not be overwritten, by clicking the “Keep” button. Once you click “Keep”, the backup will remain stored on our server until you delete it.

4. Use your backups.

To apply the settings stored in a given backup you simply click “Restore” in the backup list, submit your password and reboot your router. The restored settings should apply immediately.